Deactivation, then reactivation on a different PC, not working

robertpica

New member
Hi,

(Looking for help please!)

I am using online deactivation for an .exe workbook. The workbook allows one activation only. I am not using manual deactivation.

I activated the workbook on one PC, then deactivated it. The value in WooCommerce order for xlspadlock_activations_XX went empty (as it should when a deactivation occurs). There are no other custom fields related to xlspadlock in the WooCommerce order. The workbooks.json code looks correct too.

I then tried to reactivate the workbook again on a different PC, using the same activation token, but I keep getting a message saying that I reached maximum activations allowed.

Can someone please assist / advise?

My understanding is that deactivation allows you to reactivate on a different PC using the same activation token. Is that correct?

Thanks
 
OK, I have an update… but have potentially found a defect too.

After a lot of testing, I got deactivation, then reactivation, to work - but there is a catch. And it depends on how many activations you have allowed for your workbook. It’s a bit complex.

When you activate a workbook, it appears as activated in that WooCommerce order’s custom field “xlspadlock_activations_[Product ID]”:
xlspadlock_activations

The value given for the field is the System ID for the hardware-locked PC that the activation was made on.
When you deactivate a workbook from a PC, the System ID for that PC is removed. This is what should have with a deactivation. When a reactivation happens, the System ID for the new PC appears (as it should).

However, if you use up all of your allowed activations on PCs, then you deactivate your workbook from all those PCs, then try to reactivate based on your allowed number of activations, you’ll only be allowed to reactivate one amount less than the number of activations allowed for your workbook.

For example:
  • If you have a workbook that allows three activations, and you activate on three PCs, then deactivate on all three PCs, you’ll only be allowed to reactivate twice
  • If you have a workbook that allows two activations, and you activate on two PCs, then deactivate on all two PCs, you’ll only be allowed to reactivate once
  • If you have a workbook that allows one activation, and you activate on one PC, then deactivate on that one PC, you won’t be allowed to reactivate (i.e. zero reactivations allowed - this is my situation)
My testing was done on all the scenarios above. The maxactivperorder value in config.ini and workbooks.json matched in all respective cases.

So, I’m not sure that automated deactivation and reactivation is working correctly. Happy to be told otherwise - if I’ve done something wrong or missed something.

Please help! 🙂

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. Our WooCommerce engineer took time to look into this issue and tried to reproduce your issue. But he failed. Deactivating and activating again the same app with the same token works as expected. There may be a local issue, but we are unable to help without having an access to your server. Please reply to the opened ticket if this is OK to let us access your server temporarily.
 
Back
Top